Priceless (9/08/2010)

It was 8:45 on a Sunday Morning. The church was empty, as it should have been. Worship was scheduled for 10:00. A man, let’s call him Gary, came in and sat down in his usual pew.  As I was getting ready for worship, and not expecting anyone for about an hour, I said, “hello” and smiled as I was looking through my notes.

A few minutes passed, and I noticed Gary getting a little fidgety, then a little anxious, then a bit worried. We started talking. It was a nice day. No inclement weather or reason to stay away. After a while he asked, “Where is everyone?”

I replied, “I don’t know, probably getting ready or having breakfast.” Now I realized why he was early…He wasn’t! He had not remembered that it was daylight savings time, and came on time according to his watch even though he was an hour early on mine.  Rather then tell him, I had a little fun with him, and let him figure it out on his own.  When he did he let out a loud  laugh, followed by,

“How long were you going to let me go on like that?”

“I don’t know, but you should see the look on your face! It was priceless.”

There are spectacular moments in our lives of faith when either the judgment or  grace of God hits us over the head and it is too hard not to notice. But when God works in the little things, in the small stuff, in the ordinary, sometimes I think God loves seeing the look on our faces when we “get it.”  Our lives are filled with small moments – of renewal, of repentance, of restoration, of resurrection. God is continually calling us to faith, and putting an end to our old selves. When we see him in those moments, it brings great joy.  When we discover God at work in our lives and in his world, I wonder if God laughs, thinking, “You should see the look on your face.  It was priceless!”

Pay attention.

God is at work all around you all of the time. Are you watching? Are you taking notice? When you see him there, there is a joyful sound in heaven.  When you don’t, God may be ready to  crack a smile knowing what is about to come next.

Peace,

Pastor Geoff

PS – I’d love to talk to you this week at 9:00. But if you want to be on time for worship, it starts at 10:00.

PPS – Just if you were wondering…I think God laughs at me constantly.

 How about you?

“Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance.” Luke 15:7

About geoff sinibaldo

Follower of Jesus, Husband, Father, Son, Friend, Change Proponent, Goofball, Seeking Faithfulness in the 21st Century
This entry was posted in Faith Everyday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

