System Restore

system-restore-1Can you imagine what might happen
if we could undo our worst decisions?
With a system restore we could go back to the point
where we run clean and smooth again.

People make bad choices; download the wrong things,
don’t use antivirus or firewall software.
Is it any wonder why our systems feel so bogged down,
and our hard drives are filled and fragmented?

Who knew their registry could become so corrupted?
and our files so dispersed and fragmented?
Who notices that spyware is always on the attack,
looking for the helpless like us?

Can we restore our system? Is it that simple?
Control-Alt-Delete will not do it alone.
Where would you go if you had such a restore point;
to undo the hurt that we’ve caused?

Who is it that you would reach out to again?
Do you remember when things went wrong?
How could a restart make things different this time?
So why not give it a try?

If I told you there was such a point to restore,
would you believe that it could be true?
Could you turn around and repent in that place
and see a new world to live in?

The restore point was created when Jesus arrived
to bring in the kingdom of God;
to call the world to be restored once again;
and follow wherever he’d go.

For some a restart made them new right away,
for others restoring took longer.
Others rejected him and led him away,
wanting a new system completely.

Rejected and beaten until the keys did not function;
they threw him away, dead and broken.
But he rebooted running better than new,
fixing our broken systems to seek others.

It sounds nice in theory, a trite story retold,
that happened there so long ago.
But once system restore is enabled and running,
it won’t stop until there’s a restart.

When the waters splash across your face;
our memory chips are wiped clean.
When forgiveness happens between those estranged
the defragging has brought files together.

When the scriptures are read in the present tense
the restart in us is complete.
As Jesus meets us right here at his table,
his update runs in us without error.

When we pray out loud, and sing for joy
knowing things since our reboot are different.
Our antivirus software is up to date,
and his firewall’s strength will not waver.

We stand at the cross, but look out from the grave,
and a new operating system remains.
No longer corrupted, our registry is clean,
and our system at last is restored.

So when you download a file that you shouldn’t touch;
when the spyware attacks yet again;
turn back once more to the Lord of Life,
He’ll meet you to the restore point now.

system_restore.3Peace,
Pastor Geoff
______________

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your steadfast love; according to your abundant mercy blot out my transgressions. Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin. For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me.  Against you, you alone, have I sinned, and done what is evil in your sight, so that you are justified in your sentence and blameless when you pass judgment. Indeed, I was born guilty, a sinner when my mother conceived me. You desire truth in the inward being; therefore teach me wisdom in my secret heart. Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones that you have crushed rejoice. Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities.

system-restore-2Create in me a clean heart, O God, and put a new and right spirit within me. Do not cast me away from your presence, and do not take your holy spirit from me.  Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and sustain in me a willing spirit. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will return to you. (Psalm 51:1-13)

About geoff sinibaldo

Follower of Jesus, Husband, Father, Son, Friend, Change Proponent, Goofball, Seeking Faithfulness in the 21st Century
This entry was posted in Church & Mission, Church & Technology, Faith Everyday, Poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to System Restore

  1. Frank Hanrahan says:

    Now that’s taking the “byte” out of the Apple!

    Well – written! Thanks.

    peace,

    frank

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

