My Upcoming Adventure to Uganda

uganda.2.My friend J-Jeff (Jeff Reither) has gone to Uganda twice. His home parish, St. Mary’s Church in Neillsville, WI has gone several times. This connection grew because his priest, Father Woodrow Pace spent a year in Uganda prior to coming to Neillsville. Over the course of a few trips, American pilgrims have partnered with the locale people of Bosolo by starting Our Lady of Guadalupe Secondary School, and building the facilities to support it. The school currently serves 250 students. Sister Solome Nambi runs the school with skillful and faithful leadership. From the many stories I have already heard of her, there is little doubt in my mind that she both carries the authority to take charge and the heart to love everyone she meets.

This year, J-Jeff is leading a group from his current parish, St. Anne’s Church in Hamel, MN.  Twenty-seven people are getting ready for this adventure. I’m going as a guest, a Lutheran pastor among old and new Roman Catholic friends. While we are there our work projects will include dedicating the library and starting work on a science lab.

I am most excited to get to know the locale people and experience their faith and hospitality. One of my goals of the trip is to consider how others might get involved in the future. I am thrilled to take part as an ecumenical ambassador among my fellow followers of Jesus. I also plan on bringing back plenty of stories.

I ask for your prayers for a safe and successful trip. After taking some vacation the first part of July, I’ll be in Uganda July 14-29.  If you’d like to read more of the details of our upcoming trip, or contribute toward the science lab project, my friend J-Jeff put together this description at this link: http://www.razoo.com/story/Our-Lady-Of-Guadalupe-Secondary-School-Uganda-Africa

Here are highlights from the 2012 trip:

PGS

I have heard of your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love toward all the saints, and for this reason I do not cease to give thanks for you as I remember you in my prayers. I pray that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation as you come to know him, so that, with the eyes of your heart enlightened, you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance among the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power for us who believe, according to the working of his great power. (Ephesians 1:15-19)

 

About geoff sinibaldo

Follower of Jesus, Husband, Father, Son, Friend, Change Proponent, Goofball, Seeking Faithfulness in the 21st Century
This entry was posted in Church & Mission, Faith Everyday, Thinking About Church Differently, What We Seek. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

